Felixstowe Town Council Award Winners 2017

Posted by Town Hall Staff 04 May 2017

Felixstowe Town Council is delighted to announce the winners of their Civic Awards 2017.  At a ceremony at Felixstowe Town Hall on Wednesday 3rd May 2017 the Mayor, Councillor Jan Garfield presented the following awards:

Mayor’s Awards:

Francis & Mary Cotterell

Chairman & Secretary of the Felixstowe Wesel Association since 1974.

Chris Daynes

Fundraiser for Felixstowe & Walton Football Club which has enabled them to this year have a new Sports Pavilion built.

Mark Maidment

For his work with the East Suffolk Association for the Blind and running the Felixstowe Blind Shooting Club.

Penny Parker

For her outstanding contribution to the Guide Dogs for the Blind as well as her contribution to young people in Felixstowe.

David Tolliday

Felixstowe Lawn Tennis Club Trustee for over 25 years as well as volunteering within several local organisations.

Don Wallace

For being an active volunteer since 2000 for the Citizens Advice Bureau.

Stephen & Mary Wyatt

For organising the annual Felixstowe ‘Art on the Prom’ event which brings thousands of visitors to the town.

 Community Service Award:

Teresa Doran

For organising the Together Club for the elderly in Felixstowe for over 20 years.

Elaine Wright

For volunteering for the Old Felixstowe Community Association and for being instrumental in acquiring a defibrillator at the centre along with first aid training sessions for hirers.

John White

For his contribution as Harbour Master at Felixstowe Ferry as well as maintaining an information service to visitors to the town.

Felixstowe Community Award 2017:

The Basic Life Charity

For their pop up shops in the town which distribute surplus foods to local people.

HMS Ganges Youth Trophy:

Aimee Powell 

Works hard within the Air Cadets, Guides & Brownies encouraging younger members as well as working weekends in a local residential home.

Certificates of Merit were presented to: Ellie Agnew, Henry Leveridge, Rebecca McCafferty and Luke Smout.

Also at this event the Mayor presented two cheques to her chosen charities Felixstowe Branch of the Guide Dogs for the Blind and Level2 Youth Project C £6800.00 each which was the amount raised during her Mayoral year 2016-2017.

Felixstowe Town Mayor, Cllr Jan Garfield, said “It gave me great pleasure to, once again, present the awards on Civic Awards Night. This year we had a lot of nominations for the Mayors Awards, the Community Award and the Ganges Trophy. It was extremely difficult to choose the winners and my congratulations go to those who won. Also to those who didn’t succeed this time. My thanks also go to those who nominated the candidates. Without you there wouldn’t be an awards ceremony! So many fantastic people in our lovely town of Felixstowe. “

If you would like to nominate a Felixstowe resident for outstanding community service to the town of Felixstowe details of the Civic Awards for 2018 will be published on the Town Council website in due course.