Civic Awards    

Special contributions to the community made by individuals, young people and organisations are recognised by the Town Council through its annual Civic Awards scheme.

The Civic Awards are an opportunity to celebrate those in our community who have voluntarily gone the extra mile to support others and make a difference to life in Felixstowe…



Tell us who your community heroes have been over the past year and nominate them for one of the following Awards using our Nomination form here 

Mayor’s Award: Presented to up to 5 local people for their personal contribution to the community. 

HMS Ganges Youth Trophy: Presented to a local young person (aged 21 or younger) or organisation supporting young people in Felixstowe.

The Community Award: Presented to recognise the contribution to the community by a local organisation.

Complete entries should be emailed to Sue Faversham, Civic Events Officer,  or returned to Felixstowe Town Council, Town Hall, Felixstowe IP11 2AG by the closing date of 31st March 2024.

In 2022, the Jubilee year, the Town Council  welcomed nominations for those deserving of special recognition for what they have given to the community in a voluntary capacity at any time over the past 70 years. 

The Mayor’s Awards Winners for 2024 were:

Keith Horn 

For his voluntary work through Old Felixstowe Community Association, the Felixstowe Chamber of Trade and Commerce, The Felixstowe Society, Felixstowe Rotary and the Ferry Road Allotments.

Laura Locke

For her role in organising WAMFest, her broadcasting commitment to Felixstowe Radio, and her support of local women’s art and music.

Steve Porter

For his years of dedication to Felixstowe Carnival.

Lyndon Hunt

For his role as a voluntary Community Responder for over 10 years and co-ordinating the group for 2 years.

David Martin

For running Felixstowe Judo Club for over 16 years.

HMS Ganges Award

Jake & Logan Croarkin

For their fundraising efforts, inspired whilst caring for their father, to run over 100km in one month to fundraise over £10,000 in aid of Leukaemia Support.

The Community Award

Breast Friends CIC
Caroline Sturman & Janine Aldis

For providing support to those affected by Breast Cancer.

Special Commendations

In 2024 as well as recognising the efforts of the Mayors Award winners there were two special commendations. Acknowledge the outstanding efforts of individuals whose contributions resonated deeply with our community.

Roy Gray

For his voluntary work as Chairman of the Felixstowe Community League of Friends

Remus Chinery

For his volunteer for for Litter-Free Felixstowe and Pushchair Pitstop, service as Head boy at Langer School and selfless fundraising efforts in support of those diagnosed with Cancer.

The Town Council has been making Civic Awards for many years. Please see here for a list of previous Awards Winners: Award winners as from 2002