Posted by Town Hall Staff 10 May 2016


Felixstowe Town Council is delighted to announce the winners of their Civic Awards 2016.  At a ceremony at Felixstowe Town Hall on Wednesday 4th May 2016 the Mayor, Councillor Doreen Savage presented the following awards:

Mayor’s Awards:

Julie Bellamy

Secretary of Felixstowe Carnival Association for over 6 years.

John Brooking

Treasurer of 8th Felixstowe Scout Group for over 23 years.

Tom Harden

Volunteer to FACTS for over 16 years.

Owen Hooker

For outstanding contributions to the Sea Cadets, Mencap, FACTS and on the community committee of the Rotary Club of Landguard.

Angie Smith

Organises and is part of a team which takes Christian services into local Residential Homes.

Colin Tod

For being an active member for over 20 years for the Felixstowe History & Museum Society

Frederick Walkden

Chairman of 8th Felixstowe Scout Group for over 23 years.

 Special Mayors Award:

Peggy Osborne

Mayor’s Escort on 4 separate Mayoral years.

Felixstowe Community Award 2016:

Old Felixstowe Community Association

HMS Ganges Youth Trophy:

Joe Long 

Represented the UK at the Scout World Jamboree and will be receiving a Young Achiever Award from Buckingham Palace.

Certificates of Merit were presented to: Beth Fitchett, Level2 and Victoria Walker.

Also at this event the Mayor presented two cheques to her chosen charities Felixstowe Citizen’s Advice Bureau and Felixstowe Sea Cadets £3125.00 each which was the amount raised during her Mayoral year 2015-2016.

Felixstowe Town Mayor, Cllr Doreen Savage, said “Once again the nominations for the Mayor’s Award have been outstanding and the choice of the successful recipients a difficult one.  As always, all nominees are worthy of recognition and I thank all those people who have taken the trouble to make nominations.  Congratulations to all the successful winners and thank you for your contribution to the community and life of Felixstowe.”

If you would like to nominate a Felixstowe resident for outstanding community service to the town of Felixstowe details of the Civic Awards for 2017 will be published on the Town Council website in due course.